Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2009, 08:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Today's Newbie

Howdy folks,

I joined here primarily for the electric motorcycle/car info. I've followed the electric car bandwagon since the 1970s and now I'm ready to build something. Actually I have built one electric "vehicle" ... a ride-on train. It's powered by a 24V motor, two 12V deep cycle batteries, controlled by a controller I found on the net. I should write it up if anyone's interested.

I'm a contractor, when my bad back allows it, so most of my vehicles are gas-sucking trucks. Last year I purchased an old Suzuki 300 when gas prices hit $4, it paid for itself in gas savings. Since my back went out I've taken a job maintaining my church.

My commute is four miles round-trip so range isn't an issue. I figure I'll find an old motorcycle and electrify it. If I keep the speed under 30 it would be considered a moped her in MA. I may just try the 24V system from my train since I think I have an extra set of motor/controller.

I'm also interested in creating a parallel hybrid out of one of my trucks to improve the gas mileage. Aero mods won't work for me since I need the bed open for work.

Personal info: I'm 39 (for the 12th time), I can weld and machine metal, I have a good computer background, and when my back is good I can handle most any lifting. I also belong to machinebuilders.net a good fabrication site.

Oh, and I live in western Massachusetts.

Stan Zdonick

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 04-10-2009, 12:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

A few more details about me:

1) Small cars don't bother me, I drove a Fiat 600 in 1975/6 until it died. It got around 52 MPG during the gas crunch. I've owned around 20 Fiats but the 600 was the smallest sedan. My 850 spider was smaller but it only held two people.