Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2008, 06:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 61
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Question vacuum gauge reading problem

Today I hook up my vacuum gauge and reading is not steady. It's fluctuating between 20"-22" at the idle and even more during acceleration. I can't read when needle is jumping like that. What could be wrong? Any help would be appreciated.

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 11-08-2008, 07:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
The Atomic Ass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 535

Priinocchio - '17 Toyota Prius Two Eco
90 day: 65.84 mpg (US)
Thanks: 11
Thanked 20 Times in 17 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by holypaulie View Post
Today I hook up my vacuum gauge and reading is not steady. It's fluctuating between 20"-22" at the idle and even more during acceleration. I can't read when needle is jumping like that. What could be wrong? Any help would be appreciated.
You've got a 4cyl engine right? It's going to do that. Use larger air line or install a small reservoir between the gauge and TB.

You might find though, that it smooths out at high-rpm.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 08:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 61
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I have tried vacuum gauge on my brother '92 corolla(4 cyl.) and reading were steady
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 08:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
amateur mech. engineer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 112

Sporty Accord - '88 Honda Accord LX-i
90 day: 23.25 mpg (US)

Dad's Camry - '01 Toyota Camry CE
90 day: 22.81 mpg (US)

Artie's Camry - '98 Toyota Camry
90 day: 37.3 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 4 Posts
It's possible that you have a leaking valve, incorrect valve clearance or a worn camshaft lobe. Does the engine run smoothly?

One way to make the gauge steadier is to put a restriction in it. I did that by putting some wire insulation stripped from a wire into the vacuum hose. It has to fit snugly in the hose. Another possibility is to stick a threaded stud or a bolt with the head removed into the hose. It works best if there is a long length of vacuum hose between the restrictor and the gauge.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 09:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 632
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Put a small needle valve (available from Home Depot) in line with the gauge and start closing it until the gauge stops "fluttering". Or lubricate the gauge mechanism with a very high viscosity grease. I recommend the valve approach.
__________________
If America manages to eliminate obesity, we would save as much fuel as if every American were to stop driving for three days every year. To be slender like Tiffany Yep is to be a real hypermiler...

Allie Moore and I have a combined carbon footprint much smaller than that of one average American...
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 10:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 61
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyman View Post
It's possible that you have a leaking valve, incorrect valve clearance or a worn camshaft lobe. Does the engine run smoothly?

One way to make the gauge steadier is to put a restriction in it. I did that by putting some wire insulation stripped from a wire into the vacuum hose. It has to fit snugly in the hose. Another possibility is to stick a threaded stud or a bolt with the head removed into the hose. It works best if there is a long length of vacuum hose between the restrictor and the gauge.
When I look at the tachometer the needle stay pretty still, but I can feel slight vibration on the steering wheel and floor mat. I'll try the trick with restriction and see what will happen.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 10:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 61
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Is it possible to have too loose or too tight(from factory) valve clearance after only 58,000 miles? I don't hear any loud valve noise, just ticking.

Last edited by holypaulie; 11-08-2008 at 10:36 PM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 11:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
The Atomic Ass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 535

Priinocchio - '17 Toyota Prius Two Eco
90 day: 65.84 mpg (US)
Thanks: 11
Thanked 20 Times in 17 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by holypaulie View Post
Is it possible to have too loose or too tight(from factory) valve clearance after only 58,000 miles? I don't hear any loud valve noise, just ticking.
I don't know how cars with adjustable valves are, but my Burgman demands clearance adjustments at nearly oil change intervals for the first 10K miles. After that it settles down and doesn't change much for 20K or more.

Cars engines have a lot more sound insulation to them, so even a very quiet noise could mean loose valves. Though really, valves that are less than half of the spec range loose, (eg, range of .006-.010 and valves are at .012), is good for low end power and fuel economy.

Tight valves don't make noise, and that's when you should worry.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 12:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Funny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 409

Eco-Fit - '13 Honda Fit Base
90 day: 37.06 mpg (US)
Thanks: 30
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Is the gauge glycerin filled? That would stop the majority of the needle fluctuations. Installing a needle valve would probably alter the vacuum reading, something you want as accurate as possible. Anyone here use a Wika vacuum gauge?
__________________
American by right
Ecomodder by choice
Hypermiler by necessity

  Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 10:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 61
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I connected my vacuum gauge in two different cars and it works good ad smooth. Now, I know 100%, there is something wrong with my engine not with the gauge.

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Econometer/Vacuum Gauge Installation Guide Johnny Mullet Instrumentation 80 02-18-2015 12:58 PM
Any advice for driving by vacuum guage? video Chris D. Instrumentation 33 02-21-2009 11:54 PM
no vacuum for vacuum gauge? modmonster Instrumentation 2 11-07-2008 07:40 PM
Oxygen sensor gauge reading at wider throttle openings markweatherill Instrumentation 4 08-28-2008 05:18 PM
Vacuum gauge problems :( DifferentPointofView Instrumentation 3 05-14-2008 11:04 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com