Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > DIY / How-to
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2016, 10:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Veen's '09 FIT - '09 Honda FIT Sport
Team Honda
Wagons
90 day: 43.41 mpg (US)
DIY: Honda FIT Kill Switch

###### EDIT ######
Based on my experience and the advice from BaltotheWolf, I don't recommend using the Igniter Fuse method for the Honda FIT. About 15% of the time it causes "dieseling" which prevents the motor from turning off and probably causes damage to the engine over an extended time. I'll update this thread when I have found a new solution for the FIT.
################

Just finished my kill switch for my FIT. I don't have a lot of miles on it so I can't say for sure it won't cause trouble, but it uses the ignition coil fuse, which I think is same as key off kill. Anyway, here's how I did it:

Disclaimer: Kill switches are dangerous, I am not an automotive expert, I may have royally f***ed something up with my car, proceed at your own risk.

Parts:
Momentary switch: any, can be low current
Toggle switch: any, can be low current
Relay: Should handle 15A, I used CP1SA-12V-X
Fuse Tap: Got it from Autozone, mini, low profile kind
Wire/solder/connectors: Use what you have

Tools:
Wire Stipper
Crimper
Soldering Iron
Zip Ties

Overview:
Reconfigure Fuse Tap
Wire Fuse Tap to Relay and switches
Locate and remove IG COIL fuse
Install modified fuse tap

Reconfigure Fuse Tap:
The fuse tap is meant to create another circuit in parallel with a given fuse, instead I want it to interrupt the circuit the fuse is protecting (and keep using the fuse for protection) when I cut it with the relay.

Open the fuse tap carefully with a razor blade, I had to remove the heat shrink off the wire.

Remove and flatten the small fuse blade that is meant for the original circuit. This is hard to do without wrecking it.