Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2008, 12:49 PM   #661 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,032

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 156
Thanked 264 Times in 207 Posts
ratshack has another pnp general purpose transistor, quantity one. Good chance it would work fine but I never tested that theory.

__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 09-11-2008, 10:50 PM   #662 (permalink)
Addicted
 
bbjsw10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Findlay,OH
Posts: 555

bbjsw10 - '91 Geo Metro Xfi
90 day: 51.06 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
DCB, you are really kicking these updates out fast lately. Great work, You must be figuring it out pretty close now by what I am reading, still waiting on my parts (ordered yet to receive) And Major Thanks for paving the way, I and many others would stand no chance alone at this.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 11:20 PM   #663 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: S Fla
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the advice on the parts. I've ordered my board and LCD. I wish I could pick them up, they're only about an hour away. Oh, well. They'll get here soon enough.
I got the resistors and transistors at Radio Shack. I ended up getting different switches, since I want to mount mine permanently in my car. I'm going to have just the LCD showing and the switches mounted just below coming through the plastic. They are part number 275-0644, rated 3 amps at 125v ac or 1.5 amps at 250v ac. I know it's a 12vdc circuit, but I can't see any reason why I couldn't use them. Does anybody know any reason why not? RS is only 1 mile away, so returning them isn't a problem.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 08:17 AM   #664 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
ptsmith24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 177

El Camrino - '90 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 32.47 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dcb,

I assume idle is based on instant speed being 0 rather than a certain RPM?
__________________
"It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather we should thank God that such men lived."
- General George S. Patton, Jr

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 08:32 AM   #665 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,032

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 156
Thanked 264 Times in 207 Posts
Thx BB! Sorry your part is taking so long

Gasn, those are nice looking switches, little pricey, but it's your deal Will make mounting a lot cleaner than the standard tact switches.

PT, Yes, I'm coarsely calling any fuel spent at 0mph "idle" for tracking purposes.
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 10:45 AM   #666 (permalink)
EcoModder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North Central Alabama
Posts: 569

Big Salsa - '04 Toyota Sienna LE

Silver - '10 Toyota Prius III
Thanks: 107
Thanked 116 Times in 67 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcb View Post
I'm coarsely calling any fuel spent at 0mph "idle" for tracking purposes.
I don't know if anyone has had this problem, but my display will sometimes read 1 or 2 mph when I am sitting still. It doesn't look like the computer is using it for anything, but it has a chance at screwing up the "idle" calculations. If nobody else is having that problem, then there is no point in doing anything, but if it's really common, maybe putting a threshold of less than 2 mph would be useful. Just a thought. Thanks for all your great work!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 10:47 AM   #667 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
ptsmith24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 177

El Camrino - '90 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 32.47 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyatt View Post
I don't know if anyone has had this problem, but my display will sometimes read 1 or 2 mph when I am sitting still. It doesn't look like the computer is using it for anything, but it has a chance at screwing up the "idle" calculations. If nobody else is having that problem, then there is no point in doing anything, but if it's really common, maybe putting a threshold of less than 2 mph would be useful. Just a thought. Thanks for all your great work!
Does it stay at 1 or 2 mph? Or does it eventually go down? It should go to zero after a second or so since the instant mph is based on the last 1/2 second average (from what I understand).
__________________
"It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather we should thank God that such men lived."
- General George S. Patton, Jr

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 10:59 AM   #668 (permalink)
EcoModder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North Central Alabama
Posts: 569

Big Salsa - '04 Toyota Sienna LE

Silver - '10 Toyota Prius III
Thanks: 107
Thanked 116 Times in 67 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gasnmyveins View Post
...the only tactile switched they show are single pole/single throw, 12vdc, 50ma 5mm high. Is that right ? They want $3.99 each. Is that good, or should I look for another source. Seems strange to pay $12 for 3 switches when the whole board kit can be had for $24.
The iDuino is about $18, that's what I am using. If you order from them, you can get most everything else you need from them, including $0.35 tactile switches that I am using in my setup. You can get more detailed info from the thread iDuino MPGuino if you are interested.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 11:10 AM   #669 (permalink)
EcoModder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North Central Alabama
Posts: 569

Big Salsa - '04 Toyota Sienna LE

Silver - '10 Toyota Prius III
Thanks: 107
Thanked 116 Times in 67 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptsmith24 View Post
Does it stay at 1 or 2 mph? Or does it eventually go down?
If I come to a stop and it is reading 0.98 mph, it just stays there. It doesn't look like it factors into the iMPG calculation, since that is at 0.00 mpg, but my question would be if it would screw up the "idle gallons" since it's displaying that it's moving. I should also add that this was happening when I was running v0.70.

Question:
How is the EOC miles being calculated? Is it based on a VSS signal and no Injector signal, or is it based on an iMPG of 999999? Lots of times when I EOC, I get a reading more like 298929 (and it holds constant there), which is HUGE, but could screw with things if it's not programeed correctly. If it's based on iMPG perhaps we could say any reading over 1000 mpg is "EOC".

Question:
How much power does this thing use when the car is off? On my iDuino board, the two LED's stay on all the time, I know that doesn't use much, but it must be using something. Thanks.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 12:05 PM   #670 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
ptsmith24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 177

El Camrino - '90 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 32.47 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyatt View Post
If I come to a stop and it is reading 0.98 mph, it just stays there. It doesn't look like it factors into the iMPG calculation, since that is at 0.00 mpg, but my question would be if it would screw up the "idle gallons" since it's displaying that it's moving. I should also add that this was happening when I was running v0.70.
Sometimes mine will get caught a little bit above 0.00 But, when I roll just a little bit forward, it sets back to zero. Try that and see what happens.

Quote:
Question:
How is the EOC miles being calculated? Is it based on a VSS signal and no Injector signal, or is it based on an iMPG of 999999? Lots of times when I EOC, I get a reading more like 298929 (and it holds constant there), which is HUGE, but could screw with things if it's not programeed correctly. If it's based on iMPG perhaps we could say any reading over 1000 mpg is "EOC".
My Instant MPG reading was that high with v0.71, but I haven't tried EOCing with v0.72

I believe it's basically no injector signal but a VSS reading.

Quote:
Question:
How much power does this thing use when the car is off? On my iDuino board, the two LED's stay on all the time, I know that doesn't use much, but it must be using something. Thanks.
Are you worried about batteries dying or what? I've leaved mine parked overnight several nights and there was no hesitation in starting. It probably doesn't use more power than the ECU does (I believe the ECU has some sort of memory requiring constant-on power)

Hope that helps.

__________________
"It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather we should thank God that such men lived."
- General George S. Patton, Jr

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My kingdom for a giant, heated workspace MetroMPG The Lounge 14 12-12-2010 09:08 AM
Motorcycle manufacturers beginning to release MPG info MetroMPG Motorcycles / Scooters 1 04-03-2008 05:23 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com