Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Fossil Fuel Free > Open ReVolt: open source DC motor controller
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2009, 01:43 PM   #2431 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vallejo,CA
Posts: 43

49state 4door - '91 Geo Metro 4 door
90 day: 59.31 mpg (US)

old blue - '91 Geo Metro base CA
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
The possibility that this sort of interference would mess up the function of the low level board has me thinking of separate boxes for the low level and high level parts of the device.
Lossy ferrite cores threaded over leads are popular at low power levels for surpressing hash. For this, we need a 1 inch hole to allow clearance on 4-0 insulated welding cable, and the toroids used for transformer cores will not do. I'll try to search out some large RFI lossy toroids. This outfit has some with .90 ID, but the permeability can be from 40 to 10,000. For this RFI surpression application, I'm not sure what to try.
Ferrite Toroidal Cores : CWS ByteMark, largest supplier of toroids, ferrite cores, iron powder cores, MPP cores and RF cores

Slipping one or more of these on each power lead of the controller should help the external RFI issue, subject to fines from the FCC if not kept appropriately down.

bob

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 10-16-2009, 01:50 PM   #2432 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: romania
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hi everybody! here is a better diode to use on controller

DSEI120-06A
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 02:41 PM   #2433 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
jackbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 734
Thanks: 26
Thanked 296 Times in 168 Posts
MITSUBISHI RM300CA-9W FAST RECOVERY DIODE LOT OF 2 on eBay (end time 15-Oct-09 14:53:21 BST)
Mine is bigger than yours
1200amps muhahahahaha!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 03:52 PM   #2434 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: romania
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
on datasheet looks just 300A/450V and is not so fast.but it is ok
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 04:58 PM   #2435 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
jackbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 734
Thanks: 26
Thanked 296 Times in 168 Posts
yeah each module has 2 x 300amp diodes so i hope will give 1200amps total when in parallel. I agree its a bit slow on recovery but should still be ok at 16khz. Besides i don't want it to have a very harsh recovery.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 09:51 PM   #2436 (permalink)
PaulH
 
MPaulHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maricopa, AZ (sort of. Actually outside of town)
Posts: 3,832

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanks: 1,368
Thanked 1,119 Times in 734 Posts
Are the dedicated diodes better than the intrinsic diodes of the IGBTs? I guess they were cheaper, so maybe it's better to use them. Hey I mailed the LEM!
__________________
kits and boards
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 01:46 AM   #2437 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: romania
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Jackbauer as i know(maybe wrong) in any datasheet is indicated the total power of the 2 diode.so each diode have 150A,total 300A not 600A
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 04:59 AM   #2438 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
jackbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 734
Thanks: 26
Thanked 296 Times in 168 Posts
thanks paul i owe you one! I just spotted those diodes at the right price so decided to give em a try. May work , may not. I'm not sure yet as to whether i'll use the two igbts as switches or one as a switch and one as freewheel. Using one switch has the advantage of no current sharing problems. asyx you may well be correct i'm not sure myself. Two of these babies would be great but a little pricey:
IXYS Single fast diode module 500A 600V (MEO500-06DA) on eBay (end time 04-Nov-09 10:50:19 GMT)
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 06:26 AM   #2439 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
jackbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 734
Thanks: 26
Thanked 296 Times in 168 Posts
Guys i loaded the new firmware with the botloader built in and the orange led is flashing rapidly is that normal?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 08:41 AM   #2440 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Charlton MA, USA
Posts: 463

EVVette - '71 Chevy Corvette Coupe
Thanks: 31
Thanked 172 Times in 92 Posts
If you dont have the LEM hooked up or dont have 2.5V on the current input, you will get an error and the LED wont stop blinking. Also if the throttle is not 0 on start up the LED will blink until you bring the throttle to 0 and then it will go solid.

-Adam

__________________
www.EVVette.com - 1971 Corvette Coupe Conversion to all Electric!
www.AdamBrunette.com - Machining, CNC, Robotics and Electronics.

You can download RTD Explorer for the Cougar controllers at www.EVVette.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Paul and Sabrina's Cheap 3 Phase Inverter (AC Controller) with Field Oriented Control MPaulHolmes Fossil Fuel Free 3472 01-12-2021 05:47 PM
Paul & Sabrina's Cheap EV Conversion MPaulHolmes Fossil Fuel Free 542 11-12-2016 10:09 PM
Three Dirt Cheap DIY Electric Cars - Part 5 SVOboy EcoModder Blog Discussion 0 12-12-2008 05:10 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com