Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Hybrids
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2015, 09:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

RE: Can I put a Civic VX engine in Gen I Insight?

I am a hybrid newbie, but from what I am reading the weak points on the Honda Insight / Civc are the battery and transmission.

For me a light weight aluminum body is extremely attractive as everything rust to pieces where I live due to salt.

Would like to take the best lean burn engine / trans ie Civic VX and drop it into the insight and eliminate all the other headaches that I have read about. ie. trans going bad, battery / ima issues etc...

Thanks in advance.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 10-10-2015, 10:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Cd
Ultimate Fail

Thanked 1,121 Times in 679 Posts
The engine in the Insight is already a lean burn engine like the VX, but with one less cylinder.
EDIT - however, the automatic Insight does not have lean burn - which is another reason people seem to talk bad about them.
Others here have driven their cars just fine with no battery assistance at all, so that should not be an issue. As far as it being a weak point, i guess you mean a lot of old Insights have bad batteries now ? You can always refurbish the battery, or as i mentioned drive the car without one.
As far as the transmission, do you mean a manual or automatic ? The automatic is overly complex and expensive to fix when broken, but other than that, I think a lot of the bad things you hear are related to the fact that you lose so much fuel economy by using a 'autotragic' ( automatic ) transmission.
Others here have both manual and auto Insights. Let's see what they have to say.
Old 10-10-2015, 11:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

RE: So manual insight is the ticket

Sound like manual insight is the way to go. Most of the ones I have seen are auto. I will keep eye out for a manual trans gen 1.