Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2014, 09:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Viva la MPGs!

Vacuum Gauge - Benefits?, Practicality?, Advice?

Newbie here,

I've read a lot of threads on this forum about using vacuum gauges to help monitor your driving habits, and work towards improving mpg's in the long run. While reading these articles I've heard mixed reviews about it, also people seem to be interchanging the terms "vacuum" gauge and "boost" gauge. So I have but a few questions to help me paint a better picture of what my next step is.

1. I own a '14 ford fiesta S Sedan, and want to install a vacuum gauge to help monitor the way i drive. do you see any practicality in that?

2. Because my car does not have a turbo, I would install a plain-jane vacuum gauge and not a boost gauge, correct? or are they essentially the same thing.

3. Do any of you have any recomendations as far as manufactorers and installation?

Any input would be greatly appreciated!!!
Thanks again guys!

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 03-03-2014, 09:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Thanked 2,024 Times in 1,304 Posts
Vacuum is negative pressure, boost is positive pressure. I own a 2011 Fiesta and saw your introduction posting. My 2011 is a 1.6 with the powershift auto 6 speed. I was wondering what engine you got in your 2014?

I have used a vacuum gauge in a previous vehicle. Have you considered a scan gauge? It would give you much more information.

Just a thought.

regards
Mech
Old 03-03-2014, 09:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Viva la MPGs!

thanks for the reply!

my '14 has the 1.6L 1 Ti-VCT I-4 with a 5 speed manual.
Also I have looked into the scan gauges, they provide a lot of information, more than the vacuum gauge would. Do take into consideration i'm a 21 year old, and looks are everything lol. How do you like your '11?

-GF14