Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2008, 08:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
ptsmith24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 177

El Camrino - '90 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 32.47 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Also, I was getting blocks on my LCD after changing from USB to car power. Try power cycling (slowly, wait 20 seconds or so after unplugging before plugging in again). See if that helps.

__________________
"It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather we should thank God that such men lived."
- General George S. Patton, Jr

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 09-12-2008, 10:02 AM   #12 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I appreciate everyone's help. It would be nice if I had a little more daylight time this week to work on this, but I don't. I rechecked my LCD solders this morning and they seem to be good enough and then I came over here and read the replies and took it back to the car. I plugged in and pushed some middle button and then just by chance I saw from an angle that the screen actually said "Contrast" "000000". It looks like blocks from head on. I tried to adjust it with the other buttons, but I was difficult to see what the screen said then. Whatever it said was on the other end of the LCD and I couldn't make it out. Then I pushed again and it looked like it said "VSS Signal" "100" or something like that.

So it sounds to me that maybe it is working and I just need to work on settings. It is time to go to work for another 12 hours this very minute, but I suppose that I will find a manual somewhere on the site that will tell me how to adjust contrast and get everything setup.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 10:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
ptsmith24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 177

El Camrino - '90 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 32.47 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
To adjust the contrast, use the left and right buttons to navigate left and right through the number fields. Use the middle button to increment the number in the current underlined field. You should just hit the middle button the first time. Even if the contrast is too high, it might be readable for the next time around. Hope that helps.
__________________
"It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather we should thank God that such men lived."
- General George S. Patton, Jr

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 09:16 AM   #14 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I can't get the contrast to respond to the buttons. Some of the pixels change a little when I press buttons, but where it says Contrast 00000000 nothing changes.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 09:23 AM   #15 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
ptsmith24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 177

El Camrino - '90 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 32.47 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Try grounding the appropriate pins directly (rather than using the button) to see if it's a bad button.
__________________
"It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather we should thank God that such men lived."
- General George S. Patton, Jr

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 09:57 AM   #16 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 267 Times in 210 Posts
Axe, what version do you have loaded? You are using the Blue LCD from where?

I need more info to help you. But try this sequence:

Without doing or pressing anything else:
1. power up the unit
2. hit the middle button until you can read the display

Let me know if that works or not.
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 10:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have the current software as of a week or so ago and I bought the blue LCD in the MPGuino main thread. Pushing the middle button doesn't do any good.

But I just found something disturbing with my multimeter. The middle button seems good, but the other two buttons are leaking electrons. I don't see a problem with the soldering, so I have to guess that these buttons are broken. Maybe the middle button isn't working because the unit thinks I'm scrolling up and down superfast?

I tested all the buttons before I put it together, so something must have damaged them somehow afterward. I can't think what.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 07:46 AM   #18 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
ptsmith24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 177

El Camrino - '90 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 32.47 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm not sure how much heat the buttons could take, but maybe too much heat during soldering? Mine took a good bit and they work fine, but I suppose it's still a possibility.

You're right; Maybe the left and right buttons are "stuck closed". Try disconnecting the left and right buttons from pins 3 and 5 and just trying the middle button (or disconnect all 3 buttons and manually ground pin 4, middle button pin).
__________________
"It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather we should thank God that such men lived."
- General George S. Patton, Jr

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 08:31 AM   #19 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Soldering at those pins was very difficult for me. I'd rather try replacing the buttons if I can find them at Radioshack.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 09:45 AM   #20 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
ptsmith24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 177

El Camrino - '90 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 32.47 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How did you connect the wire from the button to the board? I have mine pushed into the appropriate pin header (nothing real permanent). In other words, can you disconnect the button from the board (but still keep the wires connected to the button itself)?

__________________
"It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather we should thank God that such men lived."
- General George S. Patton, Jr

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Christmas lights Lazarus Saving@Home 12 10-13-2016 01:30 PM
Flashing yellow light skyl4rk EcoModding Central 5 08-01-2010 01:57 PM
2x16 LCD Display issues/discussion dcb OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 29 08-19-2008 07:25 PM
Help me disable my daytime running lights for more fuel efficiency.... blackjackel EcoModding Central 7 07-27-2008 10:27 PM
Shutting off the engine at traffic lights (was-Want to Hypermile Please Help ) regor Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed 10 06-22-2008 04:13 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com