Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2008, 05:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How do I adjust contrast? (Changed Title)

I don't have the injector and VSS signals yet, but I got power and ground so that I would be able to see that my unit worked. Someone said it would, but it would just read 0 mpg.

What happened is that the right end of my LCD lit up all its pixels so that it looks like a bunch of blocks and the left end of the LCD does nothing. Obviously something needs fixing, but I'd sure appreciate a hint if someone knows where to look.


Last edited by Axaday; 09-13-2008 at 09:15 AM..
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 09-03-2008, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
ptsmith24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 177

El Camrino - '90 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 32.47 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I would double and triple check your solder connections. In addition, maybe try reflashing the mpguino software to the arduino? Hope that helps. Someone else with more experience with the unit will probably be along shortly to offer further suggestions. In fact, I'm about to build mine in the next little while.
__________________
"It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather we should thank God that such men lived."
- General George S. Patton, Jr

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 07:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I doublechecked every solder very carefully and they are all good.

I get a little bit of current between two of the claws on the voltage regulator, but confirmed that I didn't short it. Is that normal?

Some of the pins in my iDuino seem to let some current from one pin to the next, but again I confirmed that I didn't short it. Is that normal?

What I'm beginning to believe is that my LCD is broken. I used a little superglue in putting this thing together and it corroded a little of the black frame on the LCD and I fear that this could have somehow eaten on the innards of the LCD. Maybe? I could certainly order another one.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 08:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 267 Times in 210 Posts
Definitely try re flashing first.
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 09:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I actually reloaded the program before I rechecked the bazillion solders. No good.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 02:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
SuperMID designer
 
Yoshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Yokohama, JAPAN
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 2 Posts
My bet is defective LCD unit.

Ken@Japan
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 04:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well, that's not such a terribly hard fix, now that I think of it. I can fix that in a few minutes when a new one arrives.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 03:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I replaced my LCD and now the whole LCD lights up its blocks. I don't have the VSS or Injector signals tapped yet, but I've plugged it into power and ground and it just gives me the fully lit screen. White blocks on a blue background.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 08:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
ptsmith24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 177

El Camrino - '90 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 32.47 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Do you have the software flashed? If you do, it should still be giving you more than blocks. Maybe I'm missing something...
__________________
"It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather we should thank God that such men lived."
- General George S. Patton, Jr

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 08:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 267 Times in 210 Posts
Ax, Have you already run through the setup screen? If not then tap the middle button a few times when you first start up and see if that helps. I've got a few other thoughts but let me know how that goes first.

Also I need to know what version of the code you have loaded.

__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Christmas lights Lazarus Saving@Home 12 10-13-2016 01:30 PM
Flashing yellow light skyl4rk EcoModding Central 5 08-01-2010 01:57 PM
2x16 LCD Display issues/discussion dcb OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 29 08-19-2008 07:25 PM
Help me disable my daytime running lights for more fuel efficiency.... blackjackel EcoModding Central 7 07-27-2008 10:27 PM
Shutting off the engine at traffic lights (was-Want to Hypermile Please Help ) regor Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed 10 06-22-2008 04:13 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com