Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > DIY / How-to
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2010, 09:31 AM   #141 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Martinez, GA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to epurvee
I do have my sg2 set to hybrid. When auto stopping I believe the 97 geo's obd2 port stops sending data as the gauges do not update and then the sg2 turns off.

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 08-02-2010, 06:28 PM   #142 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Martinez, GA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to epurvee
I just wanted to confirm if this was the fuel injector harness you were talking about?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	th_fi.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	5.1 KB
ID:	6502  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 03:51 AM   #143 (permalink)
See ya at the next light!
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 67

Slowest. Altima. Ever. - '05 Nissan Altima SE
90 day: 45.91 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I've wanted a way to kill the engine without turning the key for awhile now. The problem with using the key is three-fold. Firstly it kills the power to all accessories. Second, the gauges all go out. This makes it harder to tell when the engine has fully stopped. At freeway speeds I've turned the key off and back on too soon at which point the engine came back to life. Thirdly the turn signals stop.

I installed a switch in series with the fuel injector circuit. This essentially replaces the fuel injector fuse with a loop of wire that runs to a switch in front of the shifter. The loop is also fuse protected, so if it gets grounded for whatever reason it will not start a fire.

I discovered that when the fuse is removed, the parking lights turn on whenever the car is on. I suppose this is to help a mechanic determine the problem if the car turns over but doesn't start. Unfortunately for me, this diagnostic feature disables the turn signals as well.

I used a single throw single pole 10A switch. This works perfectly: when the switch is pulled forward, the engines stops exactly as it would if the key was turned. But this time the gauges function. A bonus feature of the switch is DFCO at revs below 1500. The switch is not a momentary push button variety, I also chose to make forward the normal position. If for some reason it gets bumped, it would most likely be bumped into the on position.
__________________

Last edited by VegasDude; 08-04-2010 at 03:10 AM.. Reason: radio does not turn off when engine is keyed off
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 09:58 AM   #144 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Martinez, GA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to epurvee
mwebb,

That worked perfectly once I figured out where everything was. I think I might make a how-to for a kill switch for 95-2001 Metro's.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 03:15 PM   #145 (permalink)
eco....something or other
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Colfax, WI
Posts: 717

wood hauler - '91 Ford F-250
Team Pontiac
90 day: 18.97 mpg (US)

Rav - '06 Toyota Rav4 Base
90 day: 26.52 mpg (US)
Thanks: 39
Thanked 60 Times in 45 Posts
how much power do injectors use anyway? Can't you just put a switch on the main injector ground/power wire?
__________________



1991 F-250:
4.9L, Mazda 5 speed, 4.10 10.25" rear
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 03:23 PM   #146 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Martinez, GA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to epurvee
The main fuse for the fuel injectors is 15A, however in the 95+ metros, breaking directly on this line will cause a full electronic reset in the car's computer. If you had a scangauge, it would cease to update during the reboot as the ODB2 port doesn't transmit data at this time.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 03:26 PM   #147 (permalink)
eco....something or other
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Colfax, WI
Posts: 717

wood hauler - '91 Ford F-250
Team Pontiac
90 day: 18.97 mpg (US)

Rav - '06 Toyota Rav4 Base
90 day: 26.52 mpg (US)
Thanks: 39
Thanked 60 Times in 45 Posts
the reason I ask is because I have a 91 f-250.
__________________



1991 F-250:
4.9L, Mazda 5 speed, 4.10 10.25" rear
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 11:12 PM   #148 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Private
Posts: 282
Thanks: 2
Thanked 73 Times in 47 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IsaacCarlson View Post
how much power do injectors use anyway? Can't you just put a switch on the main injector ground/power wire?
On my car, the injector has a resistance of 14 ohms. If you do the math, that means it draws about 1 amp. Each injector firing at different times means the draw is not very much. I put a simple microswith on mine and have had no issues with it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 01:21 AM   #149 (permalink)
aero guerrilla
 
Piwoslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,613

Svietlana II - '13 Peugeot 308SW e-HDI 6sp
90 day: 58.1 mpg (US)
Thanks: 1,169
Thanked 675 Times in 426 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by moorecomp View Post
On my car, the injector has a resistance of 14 ohms. If you do the math, that means it draws about 1 amp. Each injector firing at different times means the draw is not very much. I put a simple microswith on mine and have had no issues with it.
1A @ 12/14V, right? In my car the injector voltage is around 60V. I'm guessing that any new direct injection engine will have similar voltage.
__________________
e·co·mod·ding: the art of turning vehicles into what they should be

What matters is where you're going, not how fast.

"... we humans tend to screw up everything that's good enough as it is...or everything that we're attracted to, we love to go and defile it." - Chris Cornell


[Old] Piwoslaw's Peugeot 307sw modding thread
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 02:14 PM   #150 (permalink)
eco....something or other
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Colfax, WI
Posts: 717

wood hauler - '91 Ford F-250
Team Pontiac
90 day: 18.97 mpg (US)

Rav - '06 Toyota Rav4 Base
90 day: 26.52 mpg (US)
Thanks: 39
Thanked 60 Times in 45 Posts
Even if the voltage IS 60V, it would not be drawing much. Most switches are rated for at least 15 AMPS. I would not be worried about it. I have been thinking about shutting off 3 cylinders for cruising, this would allow me to have HALF the draw on each switch. any thoughts?

__________________



1991 F-250:
4.9L, Mazda 5 speed, 4.10 10.25" rear
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kill switch for 88-95 Honda Civic/CRX/DelSol AndrewJ DIY / How-to 40 06-18-2012 03:13 AM
Kill switch accomplished homeworkhome53 DIY / How-to 22 08-11-2011 02:19 PM
Geo Metro Kill Switch Idea? HotRod EcoModding Central 5 01-27-2011 06:13 PM
help W/ Remote Kill Switch Idea 93hatchDX DIY / How-to 21 07-31-2008 03:46 PM
Winter mod - heater blower integrated with engine kill switch MetroMPG EcoModding Central 3 12-31-2007 10:31 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com