Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2010, 08:57 PM   #531 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Montréal
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magister View Post
wow no clue, it's a 2003 so it must be OBD2, did you try a scangauge or an ELM327 interface from someone else?
pin 16 must be 12V, this is very strange...
Tommorow I'll take some picture and try other test. I found it strange too.... I can't have make a mistake since pin16 is at the corner... pretty easy to see it.

Is that normal that other pin have voltage? I might be able to figure out every pins if you tell me that you have those voltage on you ISO for example.

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 06-07-2010, 09:43 PM   #532 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Debolt, Alberta
Posts: 78
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
The data pin (pin 7) uses voltage as the communication, so voltage is normal on that line. If you don't have 12 volts on pin 16, then perhaps you have a bad connection in at that pin in the OBDII connection?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 04:58 PM   #533 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Montréal
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have check again and I am not mistaken, the 12 volts is not there. Any of you can tell me if their ISO or CAN pin really produce 12 volts?

I think my pin of power and ISO are swapped because when I use a 9v battery to hijack Arduino I see it open but it can still connect so I am guessing it try to send/receive at the wrong pin (the 12 volts). I might try to swap those 2 pins tonight.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 01:53 PM   #534 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: nova scotia
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Glad to see people are still hanging around these forms. Wow. I was suprised that September of 09 was the last time we updated the code for this project. I guess that shows that it works well!

I have recently had the check engine light on in my car. The code to retrieve the error codes did not work for reading it, but unfortunatley I changed two things at once.

The clear check engine code worked, but reading did not.

So now I can't test any changes to the code to see if it will display the proper MIL codes, since my MIL light is now off.

Does anyone have a car with their MIL on and is willing to try flashing a modified piece of code to see if it works? **it may erase your saved settings, back up your calibration data first!**

here is the file hxxp://dl.dropbox.com/u/5064541/obduino32K.pde let me know if it works, then i will finish fixing up the code.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 03:02 AM   #535 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT usa
Posts: 224
Thanks: 11
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Is there a modern replacment for the ISO chip? Its no longer available.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 07:05 AM   #536 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: nova scotia
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You are right, it looks like it is going to be harder and harder to get that chip. It is starting to look like that ELM chip is much better.

However, it looks like this website still has some of the ISO chip's in stock for now:

Search result for: MC33290 - Future Electronics
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 07:40 AM   #537 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ÿ
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 267 Times in 210 Posts
I forget, has anyone tried something like this for ISO? I briefly tried once and failed.

__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 12:07 PM   #538 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT usa
Posts: 224
Thanks: 11
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
electromike i emailed future electronics about the chip and here was their response.

"Dear customer,

Reserved stock means stocks are located in other region which means Germany.
Stock can be trasffered subject to rejional approval and transit time ( from Germany to our USA w/h) will be taken around 2wks
Btw, the MPQ is 98=tube.
For any further query, pls go to our contact us again.
Thank you."

It would be better if their was an iso chip that wasnt discontinued by the manafacturer. Im not going to go through that to buy 98 of those chips! I only need 2.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 03:30 AM   #539 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: terra firma
Posts: 138
Thanks: 4
Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcb View Post
I forget, has anyone tried something like this for ISO? I briefly tried once and failed.
Same here, no dice, though i tried it with Honda OBD-1 instead of OBD2. Another problem with that circuit was, combined with the always-on-12v on the DLC, it drained the battery after about a week of non-driving.

My next attempt will be pairing two Chinese VAG-COM cables (USB-to-OBD2 + OBD2-to-2x2), but i have low expectations.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 07:11 PM   #540 (permalink)
OBDuino coder
 
Magister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Montréal, QC
Posts: 212

Titine - '13 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
I remember something about the jeff interface, someone tried it? it is based on transistors too.

__________________
2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Tags
obd2

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MPGuino release one workspace dcb OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 1061 01-17-2020 01:37 AM
Just some quick info on Scangauge vs. MPGuino NoCO2 OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 4 06-01-2015 04:58 PM
All New Nissan Models to Feature Fuel Efficiency Gauge MetroMPG General Efficiency Discussion 6 11-18-2008 04:57 PM
Vacuum gauge problems :( DifferentPointofView Instrumentation 3 05-14-2008 11:04 PM
Will Scan Gauge work on mine? bennelson Instrumentation 9 02-19-2008 10:04 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com