Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2011, 12:12 AM   #621 (permalink)
Bix
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Has anyone been able to find the MC33290? Or perhaps if someone has a few lying around they could send one to me? (ill pay )

Also if the board has nothing connected to tx and rx, should it display properly? Testing it out it seems a bit strange, shows obduino security and erratic menus.


Last edited by Bix; 03-13-2011 at 06:20 AM..
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 03-13-2011, 12:37 PM   #622 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Groveland, FL
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
@Bix:

You can built one of the transistor arrays instead, go to prj.perquin.com/obdii/ for more info on that. (sorry, can't post links or pics, post count is too low)

Also, if there is nothing connected to input, the LCD should show the "Car Alarm" screen, or "Init Failed" error. You might want to check the line that says "// 40 does not work with some LCD, or some misterious problem so try 0 if it does not work" Should be Line 787 or so. I had to change it to 0 to keep Kanji Characters from displaying instead of the * for the "Car Alarm" screen.
__________________
Code:
DiabolicJourney_SpaRky
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 07:19 PM   #623 (permalink)
Bix
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Where can I find the -12v in the car?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 07:44 PM   #624 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Groveland, FL
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
12v is OBD-II Pin 16, should be the lower right corner pin on the connector in the car.
__________________
Code:
DiabolicJourney_SpaRky
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 08:09 PM   #625 (permalink)
Bix
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The diagram shows +12v, -12v and ground, I.e a difference of 24v across the collector and emitter of the transistors. How do I get around this?

Last edited by Bix; 03-13-2011 at 09:44 PM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 11:33 PM   #626 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Groveland, FL
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
You are looking at the OBDII-to-RS232, but you need the other Picture, the OBDII-to-AVR(ATmega) picture. I'd post it, but my post count is still too low.
__________________
Code:
DiabolicJourney_SpaRky
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DJ_SpaRky For This Useful Post:
Bix (03-14-2011)
Old 03-15-2011, 04:24 AM   #627 (permalink)
Bix
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey guys, do you think this chip is a suitible replacment to the mc33290?

Vishay Si9241:
ISO Transceiver 9141 Vishay Si9241 OBD 1/2 Diagnose NEU - eBay (item 320667593426 end time Apr-05-11 14:03:30 PDT)

I've tried the method you presented sparky, sadly it doesn't seem to be working - i'll have a few more shots at it but if it doesn't work i'll get the chip.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 10:52 AM   #628 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Groveland, FL
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Looks like it will work: datasheetcatalog.org/datasheet/vishay/70013.pdf


Funny enough I tried it to and it didn't work, I'm having a friend that is better skilled at soldering rebuild it and if that doesn't work, I'll try to find a Chip
__________________
Code:
DiabolicJourney_SpaRky
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 05:04 AM   #629 (permalink)
Bix
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The Si9241 looks to be an ideal replacement and it can be found on numerous places for order. However it is slightly different, it has a logic pin CS that toggles it's mode from transmit to receive. So when this pin is low, its in tx mode and when it is in high it is in rx mode.

I don't know how the code works (2000 lines...) and I don't know how the ecu communicates, so could someone please explain how the arduino communicates to the ecu? Could it be as simple as connecting the RX pin to the CS pin so that when RX is high, CS is also high?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 07:29 AM   #630 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Latvia
Posts: 39
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
HI fellas!
where to find latest code for obduino?

I found this
http://opengauge.googlecode.com/svn-...obduino32K.pde
but ir runs like in a demo mode.
is there a way to disable the demo?

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Tags
obd2

Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MPGuino release one workspace dcb OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 1061 01-17-2020 01:37 AM
Just some quick info on Scangauge vs. MPGuino NoCO2 OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 4 06-01-2015 04:58 PM
All New Nissan Models to Feature Fuel Efficiency Gauge MetroMPG General Efficiency Discussion 6 11-18-2008 04:57 PM
Vacuum gauge problems :( DifferentPointofView Instrumentation 3 05-14-2008 11:04 PM
Will Scan Gauge work on mine? bennelson Instrumentation 9 02-19-2008 10:04 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com