Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Fossil Fuel Free > Open ReVolt: open source DC motor controller
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2011, 04:43 PM   #5031 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

I am just starting to learn motor theory as far as phases, inductance, etc.
In looking over the current Revolt Controller and the latest posts it occurred to me that you could possibly connect one controller and two power sections to accomplish the 1000 amps. I could be wrong though since I am still learning about the subject of controlling motors.

Could someone point out to me why this wouldn't work? I would like to learn more about it.

Thanks!

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 09-01-2011, 06:22 PM   #5032 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

True, since the system is modular, you would just build the power section as large as you need. I think this is more of a how would you do it exercise. Let's say all MacGyver had was two 500 amp Cougar controllers but needed 1000 amps to escape the bad guys. How would he do it? Stuff like this is good exercise for the brain and keeps the creative juices flowing.
Old 09-02-2011, 04:34 AM   #5033 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Quote:
Originally Posted by pamcmills View Post
Let's say all MacGyver had was two 500 amp Cougar controllers but needed 1000 amps to escape the bad guys. How would he do it?
Wind himself a couple of inductors?

MacGyver making his escape! hahaha.
Old 09-02-2011, 10:06 AM   #5034 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpirkola View Post
Paul and other contributors of the open revolt,

Here is a video of the Cougar running our 1300 pound ultralight modified garden tractor. This is the first real sucssful run after we worked out all of the little bugs. Although we didn't win, we were within a few feet and since they ICE powered tracrtors are tuned to their limits and we are just starting . . . watch out.