Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2008, 03:19 AM   #41 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Roman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maassluis - Netherlands
Posts: 51

Golf D - '83 Volkswagen Golf GL
90 day: 42.79 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I found a screw were the vacuum gauge could be mounted whit a in the package adapter. But when i remove the screw there came some liquid out. Doesn't smell like fuel. It's the screw in the red circle



What for is that scrw?

And here 2 hi-res pics from my engine. Can someone tell me where to place the T-splitter. Or can i connect it to that screw?




__________________
NOW INTERACTIVE! Joystick controls Fry's left ear.


  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 08-14-2008, 10:31 PM   #42 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
vtec-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 507

De Yaris - '04 toyota yaris T2
90 day: 69.55 mpg (US)
Thanks: 111
Thanked 32 Times in 22 Posts
After reading this thread, i went on a recon mission looking for a vacumn gauge but could only find the electronic kind. It appears the machine that uses about 50 of them is being decomissioned this winter so there'll be a glut of them crying out for a good home.(just pay me the postage!!) I have one already and it's a "keyence ap-30 series" It does loads of fancy stuff but i'll just use it as a display. It uses 90 mA at 12 volts so is very light on the power i think. (I'm a fitter, not an electrician!) Somebody here mentioned something like this before but baulked at the price. I'm sure they're expensive and wouldn't buy one but getting one free at work is not to be sneezed at!!
Pics to follow.
ollie
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 11:08 PM   #43 (permalink)
Hi-Tech Redneck
 
Johnny Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ashtabula, Ohio
Posts: 1,436
Thanks: 6
Thanked 43 Times in 36 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Johnny Mullet Send a message via MSN to Johnny Mullet
These are "Electronic" vacuum gauges? How does that work?

EDIT - Is this what you are referring to.......................\



AP-30 Series Self-contained Pressure Sensor - KEYENCE
__________________

GeoMetroforum.com - got mpg?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 03:23 AM   #44 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Hacksaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sterling Heights, Michigan
Posts: 74

Black Spark - '14 Chevrolet Spark LS
90 day: 32.51 mpg (US)

K3500 - '93 GMC Sierra 3500 Dually LS
90 day: 9.05 mpg (US)

Mango Tango - '15 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
90 day: 21.78 mpg (US)

Z0MBAE - '96 Chevrolet Camaro Z28
90 day: 16.11 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roman View Post
I found a screw were the vacuum gauge could be mounted whit a in the package adapter. But when i remove the screw there came some liquid out. Doesn't smell like fuel. It's the screw in the red circle



What for is that scrw?

And here 2 hi-res pics from my engine. Can someone tell me where to place the T-splitter. Or can i connect it to that screw?




On my 1995 Hatchback, the location you have circled houses my temperature gauge sending unit. There is a coolant passage behind your bolt/plug and should be sealed back up so it doesn't leak. I will try to take a picture or two of mine tomorrow, but I installed mine just inches away from that bolt, where the 3/8 line goes from the manifold to the hardline on the firewall leading to the brake booster. I know Johnny Mullet has questioned the safety factors and quality of vacuum from here, but mine works very well.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 03:36 AM   #45 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Roman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maassluis - Netherlands
Posts: 51

Golf D - '83 Volkswagen Golf GL
90 day: 42.79 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I've installed it yesterday. I found a pic on teamswift. I installed it between the block and a white round thing . I will also make some pics today.

But mine is acting strange. I have to make an compression test next.
__________________
NOW INTERACTIVE! Joystick controls Fry's left ear.


  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 04:20 PM   #46 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
vtec-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 507

De Yaris - '04 toyota yaris T2
90 day: 69.55 mpg (US)
Thanks: 111
Thanked 32 Times in 22 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Mullet View Post
These are "Electronic" vacuum gauges? How does that work?

EDIT - Is this what you are referring to.......................\
Hi Johnny. That is exactly what i've got. I got the manual from the keyence website after registering and it says the unit can display psi,kPa, MPa, mmHg, kgf/cm2. It's a small unit too, about 1 1/4 inch wide so should fit well on a dash.
It has a few output wires that usually go to a PLC so the machine knows whats going on. In our case we'd only be using the LED display. I think the display can be set up to go red at pre determined pressures so would work like a shift light. Also, i'm unsure of whether it'll retain it's zero after the car is turned off. It would be nice not to have to zero it and set it to display psi or whatever every time i start or FAS. To be honest, it's a little overkill and also hard to read in peripheral vision while driving but i'll give it a go, it's got the cool factor for sure! Mods happen slowly with me due to work and kids so bear with me!

ollie
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 04:24 PM   #47 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Roman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maassluis - Netherlands
Posts: 51

Golf D - '83 Volkswagen Golf GL
90 day: 42.79 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Here's a video from my gauge. And i think there is something wrong.

I did a compression test and get around 740-770 KPa 107-110 PSI. So

__________________
NOW INTERACTIVE! Joystick controls Fry's left ear.


  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 07:00 PM   #48 (permalink)
Hi-Tech Redneck
 
Johnny Mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ashtabula, Ohio
Posts: 1,436
Thanks: 6
Thanked 43 Times in 36 Posts
Send a message via AIM to Johnny Mullet Send a message via MSN to Johnny Mullet
A vacuum gauge was also used to tell a mechanic how healthy an engine is running back in the day.
__________________

GeoMetroforum.com - got mpg?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 05:14 AM   #49 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
vtec-e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 507

De Yaris - '04 toyota yaris T2
90 day: 69.55 mpg (US)
Thanks: 111
Thanked 32 Times in 22 Posts
Well, i installed the vacumn gauge and here it is, in its "temporary" home.... showing idling pressure of
in inches of mercury. Does this indicate anything alarming to anybody here? I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to in depth engine theory! The install was easy enough, finding a t-piece in work was the hard bit. It's connected to the brake vacumn hose at the manifold and the line going to the gauge is a length of 3mm pneumatic hose. I had to change the response time of the gauge to the slowest setting as it was jumping like a mad thing. Not by huge amounts now, just by a few inches but it was flashing too much so i slowed it down and now it's ok. It holds its memory when powered down so thats nice!

ollie
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 05:49 AM   #50 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Hacksaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sterling Heights, Michigan
Posts: 74

Black Spark - '14 Chevrolet Spark LS
90 day: 32.51 mpg (US)

K3500 - '93 GMC Sierra 3500 Dually LS
90 day: 9.05 mpg (US)

Mango Tango - '15 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
90 day: 21.78 mpg (US)

Z0MBAE - '96 Chevrolet Camaro Z28
90 day: 16.11 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtec-e View Post
Well, i installed the vacuum gauge and here it is, in its "temporary" home.... showing idling pressure of
in inches of mercury. Does this indicate anything alarming to anybody here? I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to in depth engine theory! The install was easy enough, finding a t-piece in work was the hard bit. It's connected to the brake vacuum hose at the manifold and the line going to the gauge is a length of 3mm pneumatic hose. I had to change the response time of the gauge to the slowest setting as it was jumping like a mad thing. Not by huge amounts now, just by a few inches but it was flashing too much so i slowed it down and now it's okay. It holds its memory when powered down so that's nice!

ollie
Your idle is great. It's on the high side of were it should be. Did you get that one off the machine you were telling us about? It looks good, I hope you save many gallons with it!

Hacksaw

__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mullet's Metro Project Johnny Mullet EcoModding Central 302 02-06-2011 08:04 PM
All New Nissan Models to Feature Fuel Efficiency Gauge MetroMPG General Efficiency Discussion 6 11-18-2008 05:57 PM
Fuel Gauge Quirk 2001Jeep General Efficiency Discussion 6 06-20-2008 03:20 PM
Vacuum gauge problems :( DifferentPointofView Instrumentation 3 05-15-2008 12:04 AM
Will Scan Gauge work on mine? bennelson Instrumentation 9 02-19-2008 11:04 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com